Military medical coverage after divorce is not determined by the same rule used for direct pension payments. The 10/10 rule concerns payment of a retirement property award. Former-spouse health coverage raises different questions, commonly described as the 20/20/20 and 20/20/15 rules.
Before agreeing to a divorce date, identify the length of the marriage, the member’s creditable service, and the overlap between them. These figures can affect whether coverage continues and what arrangements are needed next.

The shorthand refers to at least twenty years of marriage, twenty years of service creditable toward retirement, and twenty years of overlap between the two. A long marriage alone is not enough. A person married twenty-two years to a member with twenty-two years of service might still lack twenty years of qualifying overlap.
Qualifying former spouses may retain military medical and certain installation benefits, subject to the governing eligibility rules. It is inaccurate to describe coverage simply as an unconditional lifetime benefit. Remarriage, other coverage, enrollment, and the particular benefit being claimed require separate review.
This shorthand generally concerns twenty years of marriage, twenty years of creditable service, and at least fifteen but fewer than twenty years of overlap. For qualifying contemporary divorces, it can provide a limited period of former-spouse medical coverage rather than the broader continuing eligibility associated with 20/20/20.
Sullivan describes a one-year transitional medical benefit for qualifying 20/20/15 former spouses. Historical divorce dates and administrative eligibility provisions can change the analysis, so the actual records must be reviewed before promising a coverage period. The medical rule should not be assumed to grant every commissary or exchange privilege available under a different eligibility category.
The parties may agree about payment of insurance costs, but they cannot create a federal medical entitlement merely by stating that coverage will continue. Nor does a member’s promise to keep a former spouse on an identification card resolve eligibility.
Obtain benefit verification and examine the transition before marital status terminates. The children’s eligibility should be considered separately from the former spouse’s; losing coverage as a spouse does not by itself answer the children’s coverage question.
Collect the marriage certificate, service records, proposed divorce date, current coverage details, and information about employer or other insurance. Discuss potential replacement coverage, cost allocation, and enrollment steps. Retirement division and support negotiations should account for the real cost of healthcare without confusing those negotiations with federal benefit qualification.
Suppose the marriage lasted twenty-two years, but the member completed only eighteen years of creditable service during that marriage. Counting marriage years alone does not establish twenty years of overlap. The service record must establish the separate service requirement as well. This is an eligibility analysis, not a rounding exercise.
That distinction also explains why a California community-property calculation cannot establish TRICARE eligibility. California may recognize a retirement interest for a much shorter marriage. Federal medical eligibility uses its own thresholds.
The member’s remarriage and the former spouse’s remarriage are different events. A qualifying former spouse has a separate eligibility status; the member starting another household does not by itself answer whether that former spouse remains eligible. The former spouse’s own remarriage and employer-sponsored coverage require specific review.
According to TRICARE’s former-spouse guidance, qualifying divorces on or after September 29, 1988, under the 20/20/15 category generally carry one year of eligibility from divorce or annulment. That is not the same as an indefinite right to coverage. Historical cases have different rules.
If one spouse expects continued military medical coverage and the other expects to pay nothing toward replacement insurance, the same settlement number can mean very different things to them. Discuss the expected coverage, its duration, and the cost of any gap before agreeing on support or an asset trade. A support agreement may allocate insurance expense; it cannot change federal eligibility.
Further reading: Mark E. Sullivan, The Military Divorce Handbook, third edition (ABA, 2019), §§ 6.05–6.06; TRICARE’s current former-spouse eligibility guidance.
No. The retirement property award and medical eligibility answer different questions. A former spouse can have an enforceable retirement interest without satisfying the medical-benefit thresholds. The reverse assumption is also unsafe: satisfying an eligibility category does not tell the California court how much of a pension is community property.
This matters when the spouses discuss settlement in terms of one person keeping the military benefits. Each benefit should be named. Retired pay, TSP funds, survivor coverage, healthcare, and installation privileges should not be collapsed into one sentence.
The financial value can also be different for each person. A spouse with substantial medical expenses may place particular importance on coverage, while another may already have satisfactory employer insurance. That difference should inform the negotiation without changing the program’s eligibility rules.
California’s community-property period and federal former-spouse eligibility use different legal rules. A California date of separation should not simply be inserted into every federal benefit calculation.
Before anyone agrees that a threshold has or has not been met, identify the relevant marriage, service, and divorce dates and confirm the program’s method. The fact that a couple stopped living together years earlier does not, by itself, answer every medical-eligibility question.
At the same time, extending marital status should not be described as automatically increasing the California community pension share. Counsel must explain the distinct consequences rather than let the spouses assume that a longer legal marriage changes every number in the same way.
The family needs a coverage transition based on an actual eligibility determination. That may involve establishing former-spouse status, addressing enrollment, or arranging replacement insurance. The children’s coverage should be examined independently.
Avoid relying only on whether an identification card still works immediately after divorce. An administrative record or a temporarily functioning card does not necessarily establish continuing legal eligibility. The spouses should understand the status that applies and complete the required updates through the appropriate process.
If replacement coverage is needed, identify its cost and effective date. That information belongs in the financial discussion before the parties settle support or agree that neither will contribute to the other’s insurance expense.
Suppose a member sincerely tells the spouse that coverage can continue because it has always covered the family. Both may be acting in good faith. The problem is that former-spouse eligibility may differ from the eligibility that existed during marriage.
The solution is to verify the category and the service overlap, not to turn the member’s assurance into a substitute for the governing rules. A settlement can address who pays expenses or obtains replacement coverage; it cannot compel a federal program to recognize an ineligible person.
This distinction protects the member too. A promise to maintain coverage that federal law does not allow can create a new dispute over what the agreement meant and who bears the loss.
The medical-benefit question should be considered alongside support, retirement, and the proposed divorce date. Counsel should explain which facts are established, what eligibility verification is still needed, and how the settlement addresses any gap.
That is more useful than promising lifetime benefits based on the number of marriage years. The client needs a concrete expectation about coverage and cost, with the program’s qualifications explained in ordinary language.
Where the facts are near a threshold, the timing question deserves attention before marital status ends. Where the threshold plainly is not met, the discussion should move toward realistic replacement arrangements rather than an eligibility argument the governing rules do not support.
Official sources · TRICARE former-spouse eligibility
Related Edgar & Dow guides · What Happens to TRICARE After a Military Divorce? · Does Divorce Change Who Gets My SGLI or VGLI Life Insurance? · Can My Spouse Cancel Transferred Post-9/11 GI Bill Benefits After Divorce? · Can I Stay in Military Housing During a Divorce?
Explore the Military Divorce Library · Military-divorce representation in Riverside
© Copyrights 2026 Edgar & Dow. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Privacy Policy
*Images are obtained under license from Canva and other third-party stock image providers, with attribution included where required.
Digital Marketing by